Cartridge Chambering Problem

6mm06

I have been reloading ammo for 50 years now and for multiple rifles and calibers. Today I experienced something new that I have never seen before.

I purchased a brand new Weatherby Vanguard 25-06 and today was its maiden voyage. I opened a sealed pack of new Remington brass and instantly began having problems with chambering. Some rounds (not loaded, new brass) would chamber easily. Others are a bit stiff and yet others won’t chamber at all. THEN I tried the brass again that wouldn’t chamber and of all things, now some will. I cycled the brass a few more times and that same brass that chambered all of a sudden wouldn’t. I have never seen anything like this.

I thought perhaps some brass might be longer than others, but calipers showed well within specs. So, I opened a brand new pack of Norma brass and had the same issues. Some chamber OK, others a bit stiff and yet others won’t chamber at all. Then later when trying again, brass that chambered all of a sudden won’t and vice versa. I am beginning to think that something is wrong with the rifle.

Nevertheless, I managed to load and fire a few rounds, neck sized with a Lee Collet Die. I have been neck sizing brass with Collet Dies for many years. After firing, some cases won’t rechamber while others will, on and off, chambering and not chambering. I considered that perhaps a particle or something might be causing the bolt not to close properly, so I cleaned it and don’t see any obstruction.

What say ye?

To me it's definitely a rifle problem. My best guess is the extractor is having issues popping over the rim sometimes. That's all I can think of that would do that.

First thing clean the chamber/bore. A black markered case chambered and removed should show where any tight spots are. I either FL size or mandrel the necks of new brass before loading. Could be the empty brass doesn't feed correctly, try a few live rds with the firing pin removed or make up a couple dummy rds.