270 WSM bullet

daisy2007

I am looking for information on a good bullet for deer or bigger game. I started reloading for my 270 WSM and have been reloading with IMR 4831 and 150gr Nosler Ballistic Tips. I have had great luck with this combination. But, I have came to the realization that the Ballistic Tip bullets may not be the best choice for deer or bigger sized game. Or is it an alright choice?
Any information is useful, as I am new to reloading.

Last edited:
I have been shooting Berger vld's 130grain with great accuracy and very good results on deer.

Last year I hit a buck a little far back about the last rib and he was dead in 5 seconds.he dressed out at almost 200 pounds. Great big exit hole.

If you have had great luck with the BallisticTips why change?
They are a very accurate bullet and kill Deer sized game very well.

I love the Sierra GameKings and use the 150 grain bullet in my .270 Win. The 130 grain GameKings are also top performers. I would absolutely give the Sierra's a try. You will not be sorry.

Originally Posted By: sumrifleIf you have had great luck with the BallisticTips why change?
They are a very accurate bullet and kill Deer sized game very well.

I love the Sierra GameKings and use the 150 grain bullet in my .270 Win. The 130 grain GameKings are also top performers. I would absolutely give the Sierra's a try. You will not be sorry.

Well I have had good luck with them as far as accuracy on paper. I have not shot an animal with them. I had just read some stuff that the ballistic tip would not retain as much weight as other bullets on impact. The jacket is not bonded to the core as the accubond. I am just wanting to make sure that I am working up a load with a bullet that is gonna be good for deer, but also for elk, bear, etc.
I think that I am gonna go to the accubond. I just wish that it came in 150gr since that is what I have been working with thus far.